You are here

Press Release: John Minor Named as Recipient of 2019 Heavy Duty Aftermarket Industry Hall of Fame Award

Date: February 7, 2019

Midwest Wheel President and CEO John Minor was honored as the 11th recipient of the Heavy Duty Aftermarket Industry Hall of Fame Award on January 29, 2019 during Heavy Duty Aftermarket Week (HDAW) in Las Vegas.
A Minnesota native but long time Iowa resident, Minor joined Midwest Wheel Companies in 1972 as the general manager of two Iowa-based branches.  In the last few decades, Minor has been promoted to several positions within the company, including corporate sales manager, general manager of the entire company, executive vice president and COO, and his current role of President and CEO – which he has held since 2016.
Throughout his career with Midwest Wheel, Minor has served on many boards and advisory councils, and he has been the recipient of several industry awards.  Minor was president of the Council of Fleet Specialists, was a founding board member of the HDExchange and GenNext boards, served on the HD America Board and combined HDATP Board, and has been a very active member of the Iowa Motor Truck Association.  Minor was the recipient of the 2013 CVSN President’s Award and the 2015 Northwood University Automotive Aftermarket Management Education Award, and his company was the Truck Parts and Service Magazine’s 2004 Distributor of the Year.
Influential in Minor’s growth, Bob Phillips of Phillips Industries was on hand to present the award and to acknowledge Minor for his commitment to the industry.  Upon accepting the award Minor said, “I am honored and humbled to be named to the Aftermarket Hall of Fame.  It takes many people to accomplish great things.”  He thanked his family, employees, suppliers, and others in the industry for their role in his success.
“John has always been one of the most inspiring leaders I have encountered and a great friend for over 30 years,” said Tim Kraus, President and COO of the Heavy Duty Manufacturers Association and long time friend of Minor.  “I was always fascinated with how his people all had the same values, enthusiasm, and love for the industry as John has always projected.”
The Heavy Duty Industry Hall of Fame Award is sponsored by FleetOwner and recognizes a strong leader for their many years in the heavy duty industry for both their significant contributions and altruistic service to their customers, company, team, and the industry. 

The 14th annual HDAW was held Jan. 28-31, 2019 at The Mirage in Las Vegas. HDAW is the largest North American gathering of the independent heavy-duty aftermarket industry. More than 2,500 executives and managers from the U.S., Canada, and six other countries – including distributors, suppliers, service providers, educators, and industry media – attended the 2019 conference in Las Vegas.

HDAW is a business-to-business, executive conference presented by a joint operating committee of industry leaders from 12 distinguished industry associations: American Council of Frame and Alignment Specialists (ACOFAS), Association of Diesel Specialists (ADS), Auto Care Association/ HDDA, Commercial Vehicle Solutions Network (CVSN), HDA-Truck Pride, Heavy Duty Manufacturers Association (HDMA), APRA's Heavy Duty Remanufacturing Group (HDRG), International Truck Parts Association (ITPA), Overseas Automotive Council (OAC), Power Heavy Duty, Service Specialists Association (SSA), and VIPAR Heavy Duty.

For more information, go to, contact W.T. Glasgow, conference management, at 708.226.1300.